Desha County Historical Society

HomeAbout UsHistoryEventsPublicationsBooks & LinksMedia

About Us

        The Desha County Historical Society was formed in January of 1969 when a group of concerned citizens met with the common goal to preserve and promote the history and artifacts of Desha County, AR.  Mr. C. C. Stuart, Mrs. J. H. Stroud, Mrs. R. C. Tutt, and Mrs. Pat Sherland held the first meeting at the Desha County Court Room in McGehee.  On May 29th, 1973, a certificate of incorporation was issued to the Desha County Historical Society by the office of the Secretary of State.  These early county historians were about to embark on an uphill journey.

        All early documents stored at the county seat of Desha County were moved to Texas with some being destroyed during the Civil War.  The constant erosion of the Mississippi and Arkansas rivers' boundaries, along with the destruction caused by the 1927 Flood, had altered or completely removed physical remains of early settlements, towns, markers, and cemeteries.  With this background the charter members of the Historical Society began the daunting task of reconstructing and maintaining Desha County history and lineage.

       Through the years following the formation of the Historical Society, dedicated members and county citizens have researched, salvaged, lectured, and published papers and photographs pertaining to Desha County; its history, its families, and the surrounding area.  Some of the papers and photographs of the history to date have been filed and catalogued in the Desha County Branch Library in McGehee, while others have been reposed in the "Special Libraries" of the University of Arkansas at Fayetteville and Little Rock, and the University of Central Arkansas.

       The conscientious members of the Desha County Historical Society, those that have passed before and those still involved, strive to protect and share the colorful history of Desha County with its citizens and the world.  We invite you to be a part of the sharing of this history by attending lectures, purchasing publications, and becoming a member.


       Membership in the Desha County Historical Society is open to anyone interested in the history of Desha County.  Membership is for one calendar year as follows:  

$25.00  - Individual or Family  

Membership also includes a copy of the current Society Quarterly and an open invitation to the informative lectures that are held throughout the year in various locations of the county.       

Click -HERE- for a printable form to mail in!

Email inquiries may be addressed to

Home About Us History Events Publications Books&Links Media




Jonathan Stain


Peggy Chapman


Darlene Stevens


Mary Jo Tucker


Susan Gallion


Gibbs Ferguson

Historical Markers

Larry Hundley

Board Members

Carolyn Blissett

Sharron Camden

Maureen Cook

Roger Lunsford

Anne Ferguson